When Romans met the Sikhs

Inspiring|Sikhs

Musings

“Pakistan can never defeat India”, the Italian remarked.

That morning in May 1999, on an official trip to Italy, as I had switched on the BBC World News, I had heard the announcement that Indian Air Force had started an offensive on the Kargil peaks and there were fears of a full-fledged war with Pakistan. What had till now been known as a minor incursion by infiltrators was now threatening to engulf the two nations into a suicidal war. My friend Mukul and I had begun our usual tour of the Carrara stone fair; visiting booths of major companies, seeking trade and technology for Indian stone industry.

I vividly remember that stall. A company called FMeccanica, and the company owner sitting stylishly having a chat with his clients. These Italians sure are one stylish lot. Brown shoes and a red golf cap. I still have’nt got over my bias for…

View original post 895 more words

Leave a Reply

